Armed Police Battalions

Armed Police Battalion

Kerala Police has got eight battalions of the so-called armed police. “Armed Police” is a slightly confusing nomenclature that has continued for historical reasons. It does not mean that the district police are unarmed.

Functionally, the armed police battalions serve as reserve force to be deployed whenever and wherever the district police fall short of manpower in the maintenance of law & order. When so deployed, they function under the control of the district police officers and are returned to their camps as soon as the requirement is over. Unlike district police, they are not permitted to undertake crime investigation work.

Administratively, the armed police battalions serve as the feeder service for subsequent transfer to the district police.

Organizationally, the armed police battalions are maintained on the pattern of infantry battalions anywhere in the world.

The eight battalions with a total strength of about 6,755 are located at different places in the state. They are: Special Armed Police (Thiruvananthapuram/ Trivandrum), Malabar Special Police (Malappuram), Kerala Armed Police-KAP I (Thrissur/ Trichur), KAP II (Palakkad/Palghat), KAP III (Adoor), KAP IV (Kannur), KAP V (Maniyar), and State Rapid Action Force (Pandikkad).